Opening Ceremony for Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy Welcomes “Momentun Generation” Surfers

After a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19, the Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy returns to celebrate its 10th anniversary.

From August 24 to 29, 2022 an all-star lineup of “Momentum Generation” legends including Kelly Slater (USA), Taylor Knox (USA), Rob Machado (USA), Shane Dorian (HAW), Ross Williams (USA) plus multiple Maldives Surfing Champion Hussain ‘Iboo’ Areef (MDV) will compete in a battle of the boards across the contest’s unique single, double and triple fin event format to take the coveted Surfing Champions Trophy title.

The Opening Ceremony was held on Tuesday, August 23, 2022 at 7:00pm at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa in the presence of His Honourable, Dr Abdulla Mausoom, Maldives Minister of Tourism, Aishath Ali, Director General of the Ministry of Tourism, and Mohamed Azmeel and Ahmed Fuaad, Deputy Ministers of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment.

Dr Mausoom welcomed the Surfing Champions Trophy competitors at Kuda Huraa’s island pool, commenting on the rise of surfing as “a major market for the Maldives”. He thanked Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa for hosting the special 10th edition of the event – which has brought 11-time World Surfing Champion, Kelly Slater, to the Maldives for the first time, and united five seminal members of the legendary “Momentum Generation”: the now-iconic surfers that pushed the limits of possibility back in the ‘90s, and progressed the sport forever.

The contest will kick off at the reeling right-hand point break of Sultans with the first of the three disciplines, the single-fin. With a solid forecast of swell and a world-renowned roster of athletes, this event is expected to create highlights for anyone watching.

Featured Cover Image: Four Seasons Kuda Huraa Maldives